Sponsored By

CompTel Elects 2003 Board

Channel Partners

April 1, 2003

3 Min Read
CompTel Elects 2003 Board

Posted: 4/2003

CompTel Elects 2003 Board

CompTel’s board of directors
unanimously re-elected Richard E. Burk, president and CEO of nii Communications
Inc., to be the association’s chairman for 2003.

"I am honored to be re-elected
chairman of CompTel," said Burk. "Over the past year we have actively
fought the gang of four [referring to the Bells] to ensure and preserve
competition in telecommunications industry. We have a lot of work ahead of us
and I look forward to leading the association through the challenging policy
issues we face this year."

Burk has been a member of CompTel
since 1986. In 2001, he served as vice chairman and treasurer. He served on the
executive committee from 2000 through 2002, and will continue in 2003.

Burk is one of six board members
elected to represent small companies with revenue of less than $25 million on
CompTel’s 18-member board. The board also includes six seats each for medium
companies with revenue between $25 million and $250 million and large companies
with revenue of more than $250 million.

Jerry James, president of medium
company member Grande Communications Inc. and a former CompTel chairman, was
re-elected to be the association’s vice chairman. Joseph Ambersley, executive
vice president of business development for medium company member PaeTec
Communications Inc., was re-elected vice chairman and treasurer.

An AT&T Corp. executive was
elected to CompTel’s board for the first time in CompTel’s 22-year history.
Barbara Peda, senior vice president of business services for AT&T, will be
its representative.

Susan Jin Davis, vice president of
government and external affairs, Covad Communications Co., and Rob Curtis,
president, Z-Tel Network Services, also are new additions to the large company
category. They are not new to the board, however, both having served as medium
company representatives in 2002.

Re-elected directors in the large
company category include Drew Walker, president and COO, ITC^DeltaCom Inc.;
Frank Semple, COO, WilTel Communications; and Richard Fruchterman III, vice
president of government relations, WorldCom Inc.

Neil Flynn, president of FPL
Fibernet, and Jerry Easom, vice president of policy and industry relations,
VeriSign Inc., as well as James and Ambersley, were re-elected to represent
medium companies. Dan Moffat, president and CEO, New Edge Networks Inc., and Jim
Falvey, senior vice president of regulatory affairs, Xspedius Management
Company, are new to the category. Moffat and Falvey served on the 2002 board
representing small and large companies, respectively.

In addition to Chairman Burk, Pete
Manias, senior vice president of carrier relations and regulatory affairs, El
Paso Global Networks, and David Malfara, president and CEO, Remi Communications,
were re-elected representing small companies. EPIK Communications also retained
its seat with company President Joe Stockwell assuming the post held in 2002 by
Michelle Westich, senior vice president of sales and marketing. New directors in
the category are Lynn Refer, CEO, Looking Glass Networks Inc., and David Kelley,
president, PPL Telcom LLC.

CompTel’s newly elected board named
Walker, Fruchterman, Curtis and Malfara along with officers Burk, Ambersley and
James to form its seven-member executive committee.

Directors representing large company members are
(standing, from left to right) Rob Curtis, Drew Walker, (seated, from left to
right) Frank Semple, Susan Jin Davis and Richard Fruchterman III. Barbara Peda
is not pictured.

Directors representing medium company members are
(standing, from left to right) Jerry Easom, Vice Chairman Jerry James, Neil
Flynn, (seated, from left to right) Jim Falvey, Dan Moffat and Vice
Chairman/Treasurer Joe Ambersley.

Directors representing small company members are
(standing, from left to right) Pete Manias, Joe Stockwell, David Kelley, Lynn
Refer, (seated, from left to right) Chairman Richard E. Burk and David Malfara.



AT&T Corp. www.att.com

CompTel www.comptel.org

Covad Communications Co. www.covad.com

El Paso Global Networks www.elpaso.com/portfolio/telecom.asp

EPIK Communications Inc. www.epik.net

FPL Fibernet www.fplfibernet.com

Grande Communications Inc. www.grandecom.com

ITC^DeltaCom Inc. www.itcdeltacom.com

Looking Glass Networks Inc. www.lglass.net

New Edge Networks www.newedgenetworks.com

nii Communications Inc. www.niicommunications.com

PaeTec Communications Inc. www.paetec.com

PPL Telcom LLC www.ppltelcom.com

Remi Communications www.remicommunications.com

VeriSign Inc. www.verisign.com

WorldCom Inc. www.wcom.com

Xspedius Management Company www.xspedius.com

Z-Tel Network Services www.ztel.com

Read more about:

Free Newsletters for the Channel
Register for Your Free Newsletter Now

You May Also Like