Peak 10 Gets Key Data Security Certification

ISO 27001 is an auditable international standard that formally outlines requirements for an Information Security Management System (ISMS) to help protect and secure an organization's data.

Channel Partners

December 1, 2015

3 Min Read
Peak 10 Gets Key Data Security Certification

PRESS RELEASE — CHARLOTTE, N.C., Nov. 30, 2015 /PRNewswire/ — Peak 10, Inc., a national IT infrastructure and cloud services provider, announced today that it has completed the ISO/IEC 27001:2013 certification. ISO 27001 is an auditable international standard that formally outlines requirements for an Information Security Management System (ISMS) to help protect and secure an organization’s data.

“The need to tighten controls on security management and the handling, storage and transmission of sensitive data is more important than ever,” said David Kidd, vice president of governance, risk and compliance for Peak 10. “We know how critical it is for our customers and businesses across all industries to mitigate their risk of cybercrime.”

ISO 27001 details a set of international best practices for data security. It includes, but is not limited to, requirements for documentation, divisions of responsibility, availability, access control, security, auditing, continuous improvement and corrective and preventive measures. Peak 10’s audit was performed by BrightLine CPAs & Associates, Inc., a leading provider of attestation and compliance services.

“Because a growing number of our customers are looking to Peak 10 for help with information security, it made sense for us to certify our operations,” Kidd explained. “It demonstrates that Peak 10 has the required information security controls in place to help protect and preserve the confidentiality, integrity and availability of information, and to manage and control information security risks.”

“It also allows our customers to take advantage of many of the processes and controls that we already have in place to meet their stringent security requirements,” Kidd added.

The certification, which covers Peaks 10’s network of 26 U.S. data centers, further strengthens the company’s industry-leading security and compliance program. Peak 10 annually completes an SSAE 16 attestation engagement, and obtains SOC 1, Type 2; SOC 2, Type 2; and SOC 3, Type 2 reports. The company is also certified under the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) as a Level 1 service provider, and meets the stringent requirements for compliance with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Security Rule.

Since its inception, Peak 10 has proactively implemented strong safeguards within its data centers and cloud infrastructure to assist customers in cost effectively meeting regulatory compliance requirements. Peak 10’s compliance and security program, one of the most robust in the industry, is designed to help its customers meet the requirements of a wide variety of regulatory and industry standards. For more information on Peak 10’s compliance and security program, visit

Headquartered in Charlotte, N.C., Peak 10 operates 26 data centers in key U.S. markets and serves a diverse range of customers in the U.S. and abroad.  To learn more, visit

About Peak 10

Peak 10 provides reliable, tailored data center and network services, cloud and managed services, primarily for mid-market businesses. Peak 10® solutions are flexible and designed to scale and adapt to customers’ changing business needs, enabling them to lower costs, improve performance and focus internal IT resources on their core competencies. Among its recognitions, Peak 10 was recently positioned in the “niche player” quadrant of the Gartner, Inc.  “Magic Quadrant for Cloud-enabled Managed Hosting, North America” for the second consecutive year. The company also holds the Cisco® Cloud Provider Certification with a Cisco Powered Cloud Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) and Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS) designation. Peak 10 undergoes annual examinations by third party auditors and helps companies meet the requirements of various regulatory and industry standards such as SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, Safe Harbor, HIPAA, PCI DSS, FISMA and ITAR. For more information, visit or the Peak 10 Newsroom for the latest news.

Read more about:

Free Newsletters for the Channel
Register for Your Free Newsletter Now

You May Also Like