New HP Enterprise, PC Boards Praised for Diversity

Hewlett-Packard named the directors who will comprise the boards of its Enterprise and PC/Printer businesses when the vendor officially splits into two separate companies on Nov. 1.

DH Kass, Senior Contributing Blogger

August 14, 2015

2 Min Read
New HP Enterprise, PC Boards Praised for Diversity

Hewlett-Packard (HPQ), whose split into separate enterprise and PC/printer operations is slated to be completed by November 1, offered up the names of the directors who will comprise the boards of each company, with the diversity of the membership gaining praise from Rev. Jesse Jackson’s Rainbow Push Coalition.

The boards of HP Enterprise and HP Inc. each will include four women and two African-Americans. Jackson has been urging dozens of technology companies, including heavyweights Apple (AAPL), Facebook (FB) and DropBox to boost their diversity profiles by including more women and minorities in both the rank and file and executive positions.

Jackson praised HP for its inclusion of women and minorities on the new boards, calling them the “most diverse boards of any tech company in America.”

HP Enterprise will be led by current HP chief executive Meg Whitman while HP Inc. will be led Dion Weisler, who currently runs HP’s Printing and Personal Systems Group. The new boards for each company will go into effect when the separation is finalized, HP said.

The board of HP Enterprise will have 12 members, five of them new. It will be chaired by Pat Russo, who joined the HP board in 2011 and currently serves as its lead independent director. Russo is a former Alcatel-Lucent chief executive.

New members of the HP Enterprise board include:

  • Dan Ammann, General Motors president

  • Michael J. Angelakis, Comcast executive management committee senior advisor

  • Leslie A. Brun, Sarr Group chairman and chief executive

  • Pamela Carter, Cummins Distribution president

  • Lip-Bu Tan, Walden International chairman; Cadence president and chief executive

In addition to Russo, continuing HP Enterprise board members include:

  • Marc Andreessen, AH Capital Management co-founder

  • Klaus Kleinfeld, Alcoa chairman and chief executive

  • Raymond J. Lane, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers partner emeritus

  • Ann M. Livermore, former HP Enterprise Business executive vice president

  • Raymond E. Ozzie, Talko chief executive

  • Gary M. Reiner, General Atlantic operating partner

  • Meg Whitman, HP chairman, president and chief executive

For HP Inc., Whitman will serve as chairman of the board. With the exception of four HP Inc. board members from the vendor’s former board, all the directors are new.

In addition to Whitman, the HP Inc. board includes:

  • Shumeet Banerji, Condorcet founder, former Booz chief executive

  • Carl Bass, Autodesk president and chief executive

  • Robert R. Bennett, Hilltop Investments managing director

  • Charles Bergh, Levi Strauss president and chief executive

  • Stacy Brown-Philpot, TaskRabbit chief operating officer

  • Stephanie A. Burns, former Dow Corning chairman and chief executive

  • Mary Anne Citrino, Blackstone senior advisor

  • Rajiv Gupta, former Rohm and Haas chairman and chief executive

  • Stacey Mobley, former Dupont senior vice president, chief administrative officer and general counsel

  • Subra Suresh, Carnegie Mellon University president

  • Dion Weisler, HP executive vice president

Banerji, Bennett, Gupta, and Whitman currently serve on the board of directors of HP.

“We set out to create two Boards with the most experienced, global-minded and diverse members we could find to help each company win in their unique markets,” said Russo. 

HP also said that current HP board member James Skinner has resigned, effective when the separation is completed.

Read more about:


About the Author(s)

DH Kass

Senior Contributing Blogger, The VAR Guy

Free Newsletters for the Channel
Register for Your Free Newsletter Now

You May Also Like